12 Questions (-1) With FIGO bassist/DJ Paul Daly and Fred Mann

It’s my honor and pleasure to tap into the mind of this artist, rock star, DJ, and Hammers supporter for another installment of 12 Questions (1) With Fred Mann.What/who were the earliest influences that have led to your love for music today?My Dad is a musician, I started following him to gigsWhat is the greatest effect music has had on your life?

It has helped me connect with people and picks me up when I am down.

Describe your first official DJ gig.

The first one that involved me being paid was about 18 years ago at a bar called Back Star in the East Village that is now call Kabin. My mate and I played a late after-hours party on a Sunday night. The crowd was a mix of bar industry and cops who were getting off shift. We played from 8PM till around 9AM the next day. The place was shuttered and there was all kinds of crazy things going on.

One of those nights I ended up dancing on the bar, falling and pulling the light out of the ceiling. The owner showed me the CCTV footage and we laughed our asses off.

What’s going on with FIGO at the moment?

Not a whole lot to be honest, we’ve been busy with families and businesses. I have also been refining my cooking skills.

We just recently stated playing rehearsals again so you may hear something happening soon.

Who are your favorite artists on today’s music and DJ scenes?

Depends on my mood, can be anyone from The Prodigy to Mark Knight and Steve Lawler.  Underworld will always have a place in my heart.

If you could DJ at any venue in the world, which would it be?

Red Rocks or somewhere in a field in Lancashire.

Where do you acquire most of your music today and in what form?

I am part of a great music sharing group that has a lot of different artists involved. The group was set up by one of the big NYC promoters to help us all get in contact with each other and help one another get our tunes out.

I look at a lot of blogs for new DJ tunes, if I find something that I really love I usually get it on vinyl to play at home

Which group, producer, and DJ do you follow more than any other?

I’m always on waiting for new Underworld. Sometimes I have to wait a few years, but its usually worth it

Where do you see current trends in music taking the industry?

Away from EDM and back to the roots of good old house music.

Where do you see current trends in DJing taking clubbing?

Hopefully away from bottle service and “look at me” clubs

Do you have any stories from the music conference this year to share with us?

O god there’s so many.
Thanks for your time! Let’s meet for a match and meal soon.

You bet! COME ON YOU IRONS!

Leave a comment