12 Questions With Legendary Musician/Producer Mr. Boyd Jarvis and DJ Fred Mann

Few producers are as well-rounded as Boyd Jarvis is. Even fewer have been as unique, prolific, and influential as Boyd has. Yet, he isn’t nearly as known outside (and arguably inside) House music circles as his obvious talent and marvelous accomplishments might suggest. It’s my honor and pleasure to tap into this New York City and New Jersey Legend’s mind for another installment of 12 Questions With Fred Mann.

What/who were the earliest influences that have led to your love for music today?

Piano, Synthesizers, Organ. Chic Corea, Stanley Clarke, Herbie Hancock, George Duke, Lenny White, Alfonse Johnson, Sly and the Family Stone, Mandrill, Osabisa, Isley Brothers, Santana and many more.
Which was your first favorite song?

Sex Machine by Sly and the Family Stone.
How has music affected your life?

MUSIC IS MY LIFE. Music has transformed me.
Describe yourself as a musician – what is your essence?

I like to think of myself as a formulist, my essence is sound and its effects.
What are you involved with now?

Music productions, remixing, sound design, Foley, film scoring, voice overs, engineering, Mac and PC tech support and learning.
Who are your favorite artists and producers on today’s music scene?

Artist: Somi, Pharrell – Producer: Timbalin/Pharrell
Where do you acquire most of the music you listen to today and in what form?

I have collected so much music in my life I still listen to mostly everything I own whether it be on cassette, reel, .wav, ,aiff, mp3, vinyl.
Which genre of music is most challenging to master?

Jazz and Classical
Where do you see current trends in music taking the industry?

In the toilet!
Where do you get your motivation from today?

From old music!
What would you change about music and the music industry today if you could?

I would get rid of the slouchers and the thieves. I would fight for more control over where my music goes and who controls it. I would crack down on pirates and try to gain some sort of equilibrium to the market so that real artist and musician can get paid. Regulate internet sales and crack down on illegal websites that sell our music without permission.
Who has been the most talented artist you have worked with?

I don’t care for words like “the most”. There are many. To name a few I would say Caron Wheeler, Chaka Khan, Bohannon, “M” Maddwoman, Leslie Glover, Roy Ayers, and many more But no “MOST”. They are all very talented.
Thanks for your time! I hope to meet you in person one day to thank you for your contribution to the music I love and for answering my questions.

2 thoughts on “12 Questions With Legendary Musician/Producer Mr. Boyd Jarvis and DJ Fred Mann

Leave a comment